Catch and Carry...

Situation - Less than 2 outs, runner on third, batter pops up to foul territory near 3rd base which catcher catches. Umpire "gives" runner on third home because the play carried catcher into 2'x4' area against fence where coaches sit in fold-up chairs (which they had obvvoiusly vacated quickly) which is considered "out of play". Is this the correct call? And if so (which I imagine it technically is since the area *was* designated out-of-play) - is this a FAIR interpretation of the rule? I imagine this rule was written with outfield play in mind since runners would technically have possible opportunity to tag and advance, but INFIELD??
Original Post
×
×
×
×