Skip to main content

Was pondering the proliferation of the term "select" the other day, and thought I'd look around here on the HSBBWEB.  I ran across the question of what did "select" mean in a post from exactly 10 years ago, and thought I'd try to get an update.

More specifically, in your area, is there really "select" and "non-select" any more, or has everything become "select"?  And what does "select" mean:  if there are tryouts, does that automatically mean "select"?  Or does it have to mean that the team plays at an exceptionally high level for that age of kids?  If you had to, could you define for me:

Select - 

Travel - 

Elilte   -

Rec    -

Daddy Ball -  

(sorry if this sounds like an essay question on an exam)

I'm a high school varsity coach (23 years) who graduated from the same private school where I coach, in 1983.  When I was in high school (or pre-high school), there were only a handful of teams that held tryouts and only kept the best of the best in the area.  I was never good enough to play on one, and I was halfway decent.   You aspired to be on one of these teams because of the "status"

Nowadays, in OUR area, there doesn't seem to be a summer team that ISN"T called "select"... and I don't really care, but doesn't it seem that if EVERYONE is "select", then, actually, no one is "select"?  Or am I just longing for the old days when everything was simpler?

"Swing hard in case you hit something" Gary Ward

Last edited by TCB1
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Where I live 8 years ago there was one travel "organization" in the area (about 200,000 spread across several towns).