Skip to main content

Hi,

Do you guys know what would be a good velocity goal for D3 baseball? I'm currently a lefty sophomore cruising at 72-74, max at 76. I checked Perfect Game and some previous D3 recruits (all rhps), and they seem to be at around 80-82 top velocity in gr11/12 summer. Is that around the velocity for left handers as well? If they are 80-82 max then they would be cruising 78-80 ish? Sorry I'm not really expert and any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

if your a lefty with a good act at 25 or above throwing 82 -83 ,,you should be able to play at alot of d3 schools.Get to a few good showcases early junior year.get on PBR or get a spot on be recruited too and keep video and e mail coaches with updates,,be pro active..get the grades and the act score,,your a lefty pitcher thats a big plus.
Hey wronghander - 1) First don’t sell yourself short keep working hard you never know what will happen with your velo. 2) A “crafty” lefty who gets outs can fit almost anywhere.

That said here is the D3 strength of schedule and rankings that can be of help in identifying some programs for you.

Good luck.

http://www.boydsworld.com/baseball/isr/d3_isr.html

http://www.baseballnews.com/po...urrentpolldiviii.htm
Thanks. I guess I'm more of pitch to contact, because I don't walk a lot of people. I wrote the sat in my freshman year and got 2100, I think I can get it to 2250 so grades shouldn't really be a big problem. I also looked into the Headfirst showcase, but is it a bit too early to go there in gr 10/11 summer? When do d3 schools usually start recruiting?