Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I agree; the analytics seemingly haven't been fully vetted at probably all levels.  But, I get the sense it's more of the "old school" coach philosophy of "dammit, you are going to get this bunt down no matter what."  I am no analytics expert; extremely far from it.  But, I'd be shocked if they ever supported bunting with two strikes for a hitter good enough to be in a college lineup.  Any coaches here keep the bunt sign on with two strikes?

Very rare but you may have a hitter as 3and2 described that has a better chance of getting the bunt down than moving the runner otherwise or getting a hit.  This may be a weak hitter who bunts OK but has a high K rate or a pinch hitter brought in who is a particularly good bunter but just OK hitter.  Late in a one run or tied game with no outs, you have to take your best shot at moving that runner, whatever you think the best shot is.  I guess that would fall under your "old school" description but it is done because of the current stats that it is more likely to score that run from 2b with 1 out than from 1b with no out and a weak hitter up.  Who's up after?  Who is runner?, what kind of pitcher?  Etc., etc. all factor.

That said, If I've done it a handful of times over the years, it is more likely during a non-conference game that the hitter gave me a weak effort the first few times with hopes of being able to hit away.  This sends the clear message that that won't be tolerated.

Last edited by cabbagedad

I'm not a fan of the bunt either but consider that "the book" assumes equal hitters. If you have a very weak hitter (like an nl pitcher) the bunt can be a good play because you give up an out but that guy might have made an out 80% of the time anyway.

At amateur levels below strong D1 there may (or may not) be enough of a talent drop off within the teams to make a bunt worth it.

But I wont rule out that the coaches are just ignorant either.

Last edited by Dominik85