Skip to main content

I know this is probably a smaller demographic on this site but curious to see if there are any high school coaches who have taken a break from coaching to follow their son's collegiate baseball experience? My situation may be even tougher to relate to because I am a football coach. My son will be attending school in a warm weather state and like many other programs, they have a cool intrasquad world series along with open practices. He will be far enough away that I won't be able to drive but airfare is very affordable if planned in advance and I definitely want to make at least a couple of trips out in the fall and obviously in the spring as well.

It might be possible to make something work while coaching football but I would hate to tell my son that I could not come out to watch him play because of practice schedule, etc.

Thoughts from anyone who has shared a similar experience?

"Baseball is more then a game. It's like life played out on a field." - Juliana Hatfield

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

It's tough.  Everyone's situation is different.  I can't imagine you ever regretting taking time away from coaching to spend more time with your own family.  However, if you are like me, the kids that you coach are pretty darn close to family too.