Catcher trips on bat in on deck circle, pop foul

This didn't happen.  It almost happened.

NFHS rules.

Batter hits a pop foul toward the dugout of the batting team.  The player in the on-deck area vacates.  However, he drops both bats and a donut/sleeve he was using to warm up as he vacates.  Because there was so much mess strewn about, we wondered if our catcher might trip.  He didn't.  He caught the ball cleanly.

But, what if he had?  I'm guessing that there is a clear NFHS rule that governs, but I no longer keep a copy ... and NFHS remains the only league that desperately wants to keep people in the dark about its rules.  What's the call if our catcher trips over the bat left behind by the on-deck batter?

Thanks. 

Original Post

Add Reply

Likes (0)
×
×
×
×