...can a batter switch to batting LH from RH and vice versa? Between pitches? Is this specifically prohibited, an unwritten rule of a thing not to do, or so rare as to be unthinkable? Clearly, I've thought about it. Could "get in the head" of a pitcher...etc. Thanks.
Yes. This was discussed in the past, when the ambidextrious pitcher was in the news. If I remember correctly, the pitcher would change which hand he was going to pitch with, the batter would change box, the pitcher would change hands, etc. That wound up with the pitcher has to declare which hand he is going to use to pitch. However, I do not believe it limited the ability of the batter to change boxes.
Because it is a hitters game the pitcher must declare ahead of time which hand he will through with but the batter has free raine. Dont't agree.
Thanks for the replies. But seriously, how many ambidextrous pitchers can there be?
I was thinking it could be used as an (ahem) bush league play where a (at least nominally) switch-hitting batter could swap sides to get in the head of a pitcher who is having control issues. I'd certainly ridicule that sort of thing, which led me to wonder if it is even allowed.
This happened in Washington State in a HS playoff game a few years ago. Pitcher switched arms, batter switched boxes and back forth they went until the umpire stopped play and made them choose. This led to a rule change in Washington permitting one change per batter/hitter per inning. The pitcher was Drew Vettleson, a rising prospect in the Tampa Rays system (OF). He was a fine HS pitcher and threw both right and left.
The batter can switch boxes as often as he likes - he just can't do it when the pitcher is on the rubber ready to pitch (the batter is out). The pitcher has to face each batter as a righty or lefty, but not both.