Many scorekeepers know that according to the rules, mental errors typically don't get recorded as actual errors. I'll have to admit that I had thought this was a hard and fast rule that held true in EVERY case. But not so.
OBR states in 10.13: NOTE (3) "Mental mistakes or misjudgments are not to be scored as errors unless specifically covered in the rules."
So ARE there situations which are "specifically covered in the rules"? Turns out there are.
- R1 attemtps to steal 2nd
- Catcher makes a good throw, but no one covers (mental error).
- Throw was there in plenty of time, but goes into CF.
(This was brought up in a previous thread entitled "How do you score these?".) I responded to that one, but should have first checked the following:
10.13 (f): "(e) An error shall be charged against any fielder whose failure to stop, OR TRY TO STOP, an accurately thrown ball permits a runner to advance, providing there was occasion for the throw. If such throw be made to second base, the scorer shall determine whether it was the duty of the second baseman or the shortstop to stop the ball, and an error shall be charged to the negligent player. NOTE: If in the scorer's judgment there was no occasion for the throw, an error shall be charged to the fielder who threw the ball."
Situation #2. This happened in my son's game last month.
- Bases loaded, no outs -- ground ball to the pitcher.
- Catcher forgets the bases are loaded (mental error)
- Catcher simply stands up about 2 feet in front of home plate.
- Pitcher throws home accurately.
- Catcher isn't on the base or close enough to make a tag
- Run scores
10.13(c) states: "An error shall be charged against any fielder when he catches a thrown ball or a ground ball in time to put out any runner on a force play and fails to tag the base or the runner."
So bottom line, while most of the time mental errors don't get scored as errors, there are a few occastions where the rules do allow an error to be credited for a mental miscue.