Skip to main content

I am a newbie, so please accept my apologies up front if I have posted to the wrong area.  We have a situation where we have a player on the JV team at his school in Texas but he is also playing on a tournament team.  Glancing through the UIL rules, I could not really see anything that actually prevented him from doing that, but yet we had always "heard" that it wasn't allowed and the players could not do that.  Does anyone know for sure?  Could they have possibly meant Varsity players, or are they able to play as well? Any answers and guidance will be greatly appreciated.

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I doubt if there are any rules to prevent this, but HS coach would likely not like this at all.  There are unwritten rules that Select team ball starts after HS, as there is always a concern for injury and overuse, (especially with pitchers).  If your son gets hurt playing on the weekend the HS coach will get very angry and make it harder for him and others to play on team in the Summer.  That is why there is an unwritten truce.  

Originally Posted by Aleebaba:

I doubt if there are any rules to prevent this, but HS coach would likely not like this at all.  There are unwritten rules that Select team ball starts after HS, as there is always a concern for injury and overuse, (especially with pitchers).  If your son gets hurt playing on the weekend the HS coach will get very angry and make it harder for him to play on team in the Summer.  That us why there is an unwritten truce.  

Thank you! 

Your best bet is to contact UIL directly. Darryl Beasley, asst. ath. dir.,

512-471-5883, dbeasley@uiltexas.org

You may want to consider the coaches position, if the JV player would be considered for a move to Varsity come playoff time.  

I'm in Dallas, & unless it is a reversal or a very recent change, I don't believe UIL would allow it. I know Varsity players could not.