Two situations

So this was softball last night and not baseball but I would assume it would be the same for both but want the baseball rule anyway.

1.  Batter squares to bunt, makes an attempt at the ball but gets hit in the arm by the ball.  Ump calls dead ball and sends the runner to first.  I tell our catcher to ask for an appeal on the attempt.  She does and field ump comes running in to talk with plate ump.  He turns around and starts back to his position without saying anything.  He's running right by me and I asked what the call was.  Without breaking stride he said although she made an attempt at it she wasn't in the zone when she got hit.  He got that wrong - correct?  Any attempt at a pitch is a dead ball strike when it hits them.  I know this is right for a swing but does it still apply for a bunt?  I'm thinking it does.

2.  Runner on first and popup behind the bag in foul territory.  My first baseman starts to go back on the ball but runs into the runner who is still standing on the base.  She's not able to get to the ball because of the collision.  I do not believe there was any intent on the runner to hold up my girl and she was doing the whole ball in the air tag up that girls are taught.  She still has to move out of the way to allow my fielder a chance to catch the ball right?  The base doesn't provide her protection correct?

Like I said it's softball but I would assume situations like these would be the same no matter boy or girl but still want to know for baseball.

Thanks

Nothing can stop the man with the right mental attitude from achieving his goal; nothing on earth can help the man with the wrong mental attitude. Thomas Jefferson

Original Post

1. That's a dead ball strike in baseball. 

2. In baseball the runner doesn't have to vacate the bag, but can't intentionally hinder the fielder. I always look at intentional as meaning the player made a deliberate move, as opposed to didn't make a move.  Of course the runner is only protected in this case from an interference call as it relates to the fielder - the runner is not protected from contact with a batted ball while on the bag.

Thanks Rob T - I guess my understanding of the rule in situation 2 is wrong.  I didn't think the bag gave the runner any protection.  I understand the idea of intentionally doing something but I thought they had to vacate since there's no a real play on them yet.  Take a step or two off then get back on.

THanks

coach2709 posted:

Thanks Rob T - I guess my understanding of the rule in situation 2 is wrong.  I didn't think the bag gave the runner any protection.  I understand the idea of intentionally doing something but I thought they had to vacate since there's no a real play on them yet.  Take a step or two off then get back on.

THanks

Here's the OBR rule.  FED is similar.

If, however, the runner has contact with a legally occupied base
when he hinders the fielder, he shall not be called out unless, in
the umpire’s judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on
fair or foul territory, is intentional. If the umpire declares the
hindrance intentional, the following penalty shall apply: With
less than two out, the umpire shall declare both the runner and
batter out. With two out, the umpire shall declare the batter
out.

 

Situation 2. 

Lack of intent is not an excuse in FED.

The FED case book for a similar play says, "A runner need not vacate his base to permit a fielder to make a catch, but he shall give the fielder a reasonable opportunity to make the play."


Here's the OBR rule.  FED is similar.

If, however, the runner has contact with a legally occupied base
when he hinders the fielder, he shall not be called out unless, in
the umpire’s judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on
fair or foul territory, is intentional. If the umpire declares the
hindrance intentional, the following penalty shall apply: With
less than two out, the umpire shall declare both the runner and
batter out. With two out, the umpire shall declare the batter
out.

 

So if the batter is called out, is that considered an AB?  How is that scored?

Add Reply

Likes (0)
×
×
×
×