Skip to main content

Reply to ","

Ok, here is my life's work when it comes to cooking....

I got the following hot/spicy recipe from an Italian guy named Vito Pasquale in 1986. Vito got the recipe from his mother who ironically was Croatian. I have worked on it ever since although the recipe is still probably 85% or 90% the same as when I got it from Vito.

Since I am an Engineer, whenever I have met another Italian woman (or man) who happens to make sauce, I ask them about their recipe. If they tell me something I have never heard before, I'll try it and if I like it, I'll incorporate it into the sauce. I have been working on it for 23 years. I have never had one child or adult tell me they did not like it. In fact, most come back for seconds so that tells me what they think of it. The recipe is designed so that you can tweak it to your own tastes. I "highly" recommend following it closely the first time you make it before deviating however. Let me know what you think via pm if you like and please I'll take any other suggestions you might have. The recipe can be easily doubled but you'll need a really big pot for that. Thanks and hopefully you will enjoy as much as I have:

Sauce Ingredients (single batch in a large cooking pot):

Olive Oil

Garlic Cloves (probably ½ bulb for single batch)

3 - 28 oz cans of Hunt’s Sauce (tried them all including Contadina and Hunt’s is required)

1 - 18 oz can Hunt’s Paste

2/3 can of Water from each Sauce can

3 cans of Water from the Paste can

Black Pepper (to taste see directions below)

½ tea spoon of crushed, cayenne Red Pepper

Red Pepper Flakes

½ cup Kraft Parmesan/Romano cheese

1 tablespoon Basil

1 tablespoon Oregano

2-3 Bay Leaves

1/3 Stick of Butter (optional)

2 Quarts Whole White Mushrooms (added to sauce after mixing is done)

1 Whole Green Pepper (optional)

1 Large Hot Yellow or White Onion

Sauce cooking instructions: (Note – never add salt or sugar to this recipe)