When reading through your origional post I could relate to your stress. It is a very difficult process for the player and parents; I think having a place to go for information and support is important.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .