RJM...I see your point as well. I think everyone should be able to stand on their own two feet. But at times its comforting to know you do have someone you can count on to be in your corner when you need them.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .