Skip to main content

Addressing the pitcher's rubber

A high school-level pitching question about addressing the pitching rubber.

Runner on third (R3) and our RHP is on the mound, but off the rubber.  While standing behind the pitching rubber, he decides he'll pitch from the wind-up position.  He steps forward with his left foot, then with his right.  Field umpire calls a balk.  R3 scores.

I ask for an explanation and ask if it was his hands or motion that was deceptive.  Like, "did he start and stop". He tells me it is how he is "addressing the rubber".  He tells me and my RHP that he needs to step with his right foot first, then his left.  That's why he called a balk.

I've looked through rule books and this Forum about "addressing the rubber", and I cannot find anything remotely close.  I think most pitcher's engage the rubber all the time in this manner. 

I asked another umpire today and he didn't think there's any reason for a balk call in this scenario. I'm baffled. It cost us a run and the game.  Any help?

Original Post
×
×
×
×