Skip to main content

Calling the strike- philosophy

At the HS level- Catcher sets up on inside corner. Pitcher misses his spot, and catcher has to move glove from one side of the plate to the other side of the plate. Notice I keep "plate" in the sentence.

The pitch is on the opposite corner of the plate. If the catcher would have been set up outside edge then it's a no brainer... strike. Since the catcher has to sweep his glove from one corner of the plate to the other side do you call this a strike?

 

I work with a guy who spent 5 years in the minor leagues umpiring and he says in pro ball they call it a ball all day long because the pitcher missed his spot by that much. Two HS level umpires have given me different takes. One said he calls it a strike because according to rule it has crossed the batters strike zone along with the plate therefore it's a strike,(he added it's hard to take away strikes from a HS level pitcher) The other umpire said it would depend on the flow of the game. If the pitcher was nails that day, don't reward him for missing his spot that much. If the pitcher was having trouble finding the zone, he would ring it up.

Original Post
×
×
×
×