Reply to "Catching Video, Feedback Appreciated"

Dominik85 posted:

I'm no expert at all in catching but why are you turning the glove down just before you receive? After you catch the ball your glove is nice and quiet but that little flip could cost you some strikes.

I disagree that the "flip" is going to cost any strike (in and of itself).  As an umpire, I am focused on the ball, not the glove -- and by the time the ball gets to the glove the glove is back where it should be.

 

I'll leave any comments on the value of the flip or how it might affect other aspects of the catching to the coaches here.

×
×
×
×