Skip to main content

Reply to "Coach holding a grudge against a player for for retaliation against parent."

I will take this opportunity to say I think it is tougher for us as coaches/parents.  I was an assistant coach for varsity baseball and football and head middle school coach when my kids were younger.  I think it has somewhat changed my perspective as a parent for the good and the bad.  At times, I relate to the choices that my sons' coaches had to make.  But I also see the bad choices they make in relationship with my son.  I have had coaches that didn't play to win like I do.  They played everybody to some extent, even on varsity, and gave in to requests from supporters and administration.  They played kids that had no business playing but were good for the program or school.  They played seniors who shouldn't have been on the team much less play varsity.  I have been encouraged to do so by administration but have never given in to that because for one my livlihood was not dependent on that job.  I did it for the love of the game and to win. 

I have never completely felt like someone held a grudge against my kids but I have experienced the coaches who, because of our relationship and my sons good nature, felt like they could bench them for others who were not as good and "needed playing time."  They were right.  I never said anything but really had to bite my tongue a few times.