Your son likely attended an event where the participation list was available to schools. Have a good laugh when you receive one commending your son for his play when he signed up but didn’t participate.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .