Skip to main content

Reply to "FC or infield hit?"

Following up on the 10.12(a)(1) comment:

Not necessarily in reference to the posted scenario here, but it's always struck me that when it says "but does not throw to first base in time to retire the batter" ... that phrase could be interpreted two ways.
A. he doesn't make a throw
B. he makes a throw but it's not in time

So on a routine ground ball, if the fielder just holds on to the ball without even making a throw (brain cramp), does this rule protect him from being given an error?

Interested in other scorekeepers' take on this.
Last edited by RPD
×
×
×
×