Skip to main content

Reply to "Freshman's parents"

It has taken me almost 40 years to finally figure it out and I have been around baseball most of my life as a player, coach and parent of two baseball players. My fourteen year old has been playing since he was four and my twenty one year old started later in his life but left baseball to play football. My fourteen year old played L.L, PONY and he played travel ball for four years before going to high school. My Dad played semi pro ball back in the fifties and I can not even count the times that we have sat around and talked about the game and the personalities that we have come across. And now I have a nephew through Marriage that plays pro ball with the Oakland A’s. And we have talked about his experiences a lot at Christmas and holidays. My job that I have been doing for nine years has me dealing with a lot of H.S coaches so this is where I draw my opinion from. Even with that it is only my opinion. Enough said about how I came to my opinion of good coaches and bad coaches.

I think the reason it took me so long to figure it out was that I always tried to figure why a certain player played and why another player with the same ability or in some cases better ability sat on the bench. What a waste of time.

If some of you are wondering if I have this opinion about coaches because my son does not play, the answer is that he does play, he does not play in ever game but he does play. And he is even getting a chance to play for the Varsity this week in a tournament during spring break. After the week is over he will be moved back down to the Freshmen team where he will most likely go back to the same routine playing a few innings, D.H. and that is fine with us. At least he still has the love for the game.