Gavin, hope you've read this far. Don't let the questions scare you! You have time, and you have a nice start. Impressed that you shared here, and I hope you can find a smart coach who will help bring you along.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .