Skip to main content

Reply to "How to Let Coach Know You're Working On Your Own?"

Coach_Dad posted:

First time posting, long time reader of these forums. I've been using this website and forums for about 5 years now trying to plan / guide my 2018 to be in the best possible position to be a successful baseball player. He's worked hard, off season workouts since 6th grade, has a good bat (told he definitely has a college "swing" -- whatever that means. His off tee VELO his freshman year was metered at 75 mph by University of Michigan during a clinic), good arm and glove. By far not the best kid on the team but definitely no slouch and working on improving his game as much as possible. Has a deep passion and I feel he's one of those players that's a student of the game.  

Unfortunately, 2018 is in a toxic baseball program that includes verbal and mentally abusive staff. And no one wants to say anything about it because they are afraid of how that will affect playing time -- and sadly, we're one of those parents. We've seen retribution many times. HS program does not have a great history, since this coaching staff took over about 6 years ago, of connecting players to good colleges and baseball programs and the coaches do not have a very good reputation among their peers. 

2018 batted over .600 for most of the 2016 season on JV and for some reason was the only soph not pulled up to Varsity at end of the year. 2018 had many conversations with coaches to see what he could so to improve only to get the run around and blown off. We were warned from a couple of parents before his freshman year that coaching staff usually has at least 1-2 kids in "the doghouse" regardless of what they do, and that our kid would most likely be one of those kids. Sure as anything, 2018 has permanent residency in the doghouse. He's been very frustrated over this situation but fights through it and does not give up.