Skip to main content

Reply to "Metrics / Data"

Thanks guys and a little background might  be helpful. I've been a HS coach for almost 30 years.  I was a HC in Kentucky for 9 years then moved to NC to be an assistant.  I was an AC for 4 years then became athletic director and stepped away from baseball for about 5 years.  The past 5 years I've been AD and head baseball coach.  Doing both was tough when it came to time management then throw in the fact we had to get through COVID.  The two years before COVID (my first two as HC at my current school) we were pretty good.  Second in conference both years and lost in 2nd round of playoffs.  COVID year we played 3 or 4 games.  The past two years we have been terrible.  There's many reasons why I gave up being AD and the two biggest are I want to spend more time with my family.  I'm tired of the 50 to 60 hour weeks, leaving the house at 7:30 in the morning and not getting home until 10 or 11 after my wife and daughter have went to bed got super old.  The breaking point was when my 7 year old daughter asked if I was going to be at a school play and I said I couldn't because I had to work (we had a home event that night) and the look on her face broke my heart.  I finished out the school year but I started preparing to transition to my assistant who wanted the job.

Because fall sports are a beast for AD's I've never had any type of fall workout because didn't have the time.  When I took over we were really weak because the previous HC wouldn't let the guys lift.  I've been preaching get in our weight lifting classes but honestly we are still really far behind where we need be.  It's starting to change because more guys are starting to take it serious but not enough.  I wonder if my prior commitments to AD have helped keep this from taking off.