Skip to main content

Reply to "MiLB - Experimental Rules"

@NewUmpire, I have to respectfully disagree with the 1st one from a coach and former player standpoint. While I do agree that the time between innings should be kept brief, you should always allow a pitcher adequate time to warm up. A good 5 throws to get everything loosened back up between innings should be non-negotiable simply from an injury standpoint. Also to note, I would argue that this actually serves to speed up the game. A lot of big/long innings with crooked numbers usually start with control issues.

My Top 3 Biggest Time Sucks At Any Level Of Baseball:

#1. Pitchers not able to pound the strike zone

#2. Ump not giving the high strike or the inside corner

#3. The absence of situational hitting

ps...  as a coach, I ain't warming up my pitchers so no need to ask. I have officially gotten to old for that non-sense, as I have painfully learned that most of my pitchers throw faster than my eyes can focus. Maybe 20 years ago....

w/r/t: time to warm up...

For this one, umpires have the rules on their side (6-2-2 exc). A starting or relief pitcher gets not more than 8 completed in 1 minute timed from first throw... Each subsequent inning is not more than 5 throws completed in one minute timed from the 3rd out of the previous inning.

In games where this is followed, things move along, players hustle, etc. In games where this is lax, the game drags. You may not like it, but you wouldn't want the umpire choosing which rules to follow and which to ignore, right? If you're not going to warm the P up that's fine, but please find someone on your bench that can. You certainly find someone to warm-up the next guy in the 'pen, right? It's such a simple thing to do.

w/r/t: "#2. Ump not giving the high strike or the inside corner"