Skip to main content

Reply to "Order a scout today, be there tomorrow???"

Goosegg posted:

"Dear Mr. and Ms. Smith

Thank you very much for the opportunity to provide an in depth evaluation and plan for your son Jon Smith. As you know, I was a professional baseball scout for many years and know some people who are pretty high in various baseball organizations. While scouting is different from developing baseball skills, I am very experienced in watching and rendering opinions and have done so for literally thousands of players over my scouting career - some of those who I evaluated played in the major leagues! My goal is to create a multi-year relationship with your family which will culminate in your son realizing his baseball potential. While I do not coach, teach, or develop, I can tell you what your son will need to do to reach the next baseball level.

I attended two full games of Saturday's high school double header and am pleased to share with you my observations:

Jon is a 5' 2" 150 lb. soft body, right fielder who is just entering puberty. His parents (I don't know if he was adopted) are both average height and build.

While only two fly balls were hit to right over both games, I observed that Jon wore his uniform properly and he warmed up well, with most of his throws to his warm up partner within an acceptable range for both accuracy and velocity. Both fly balls were routine, but I noticed Jon seemed a bit unsure whether to crow hop a throw back to the infield - maybe next game, I'll get to watch Jon catch a ball with a man on base and less than two out. However, during pre-game the three warm up fly balls were caught and his throws went to the base he had been told to throw to; moreover, the throws were reasonably accurate and showed good velocity. For almost every pitch defensively, Jon would seem to be focused on the game and moved to back up throws when appropriate.