Reply to "Pitcher reentering the game"

noumpere posted:
Matt13 posted:

In FED, a pitcher can return to pitch no more than once an inning, assuming he has not reached his pitch count limit or his replacement needs more than eight warm-up pitches. In fact, if he's the starter, he can leave the game entirely and come back in to pitch if he's still eligible.

He also cannot return if he's removed because the coach has already used the allowed number of visits (just adding for completeness)

Not so sure about this....  If the coach used up his visits and the starting pitcher was now playing 1B... that player would be eligible to go to the mound and pitch.  Provided that if it were mid inning - he would get no warm up pitches ...if reentered as a pitcher to start an inning then no issue.  Players can change defensive positions mid inning with no penalty if not delaying the game.  I don't know of any rule that would prevent that.   A delay would constitute a visit.  Also in NFHS ... if the coach used up all visits...then each visit after must result in a pitching change.   Since the pitcher returning is a change ... I don't see the infraction.   

×
×
×
×