Skip to main content

Reply to "Pitching Inside"

quote:
Originally posted by 55mom:
Tg if someone was purposely throwing at my son, the coach had better show him some support and have a little talk with the ump. Maybe something else was going on you didn't notice? do you or your son have a bad attitude that makes him a target? Just asking 'cause he seems young to be playing the game of baseball with just vengence.
Our head coach asked for a warning during the second at-bat he was thrown at. The umpire didn't want to hear about a previous game(other coach promised my son he would throw at him) and denied it.

I say nothing outside the dugout when I coach other than positioning fielders. Everything else is for other coaches. When I was a head coach I was emotionally calm. It was hard to tell if we were winning or losing by my expressions.

My son has a great attitude. He plays hard, not with a vengance. This is one incident in who knows how many games over the years. The time he got cheapshotted on the slide at second and got a hairline fracture in his thumb and spiked on the bicep, he just happened to be the second baseman. He doesn't knockdown hitters all the time. He just knows how to do it. For the past two years he's pitched mostly in relief and couldn't risk putting extra runners on base.

He says very little on the field except calling out plays (when he plays infield), number of outs and being supportive of teammates who need to be picked up. He's a chatterbox in the dugout with his teammates. If you're wondering about my son's character, he's been named captain of every sport he's ever played at school by his coaches. He was appointed by his teachers to be a member of the student conflict resolution board. He's the kid every parent says is welcome in their house anytime.