Skip to main content

Reply to "Plate Umpire positioning"

Hello,

I am a Young Umpire 19, and through my connections and skill of 15 years of baseball, became a Umpire. I texhnicallt started when i was about 16 for my local park league...so to speak. But noticing how serious I was abor umping, i didnt fit in and was criticized in a way believe it or not.  So with the help of a fellow umpire, I started umpiring summer-ball (pony) (Ages 15-18) ($35) as well as Umpiring Fastpitch Tournaments. (Ages 10-18) (And for those who have experienced Fastpitch Tournaments...You know Its a treat) (Many *serious* & *good* teams pay/sign up to compete through a whole weekened, And the pay is between $210- $420 and even up to $700 on the bigger tournaments) And No Highschool Umpiring for Im a full time College Student.

But, none the less when I stared Umping all of this, I was only 17 believe it or not. I also was nominated by the coaches over many other umpires (18) to do the Umpire the playoffs (for Pony).  Mainly from their experiences with my Plate calling.  I am very accurate In my opinion and as well as to most.  The catchers even agree, and the coaches love me.  From all this, (not trying to sound cocky I promise lol) You could hopefully believe that I take Umpiring very serious and am very good at it and of course I extremely Enjoy it. But obtaining to the argument, all of this was done with me not using The “slot”. My head was always ether over the the catcher, (which was rare because I’m not to tall...or on his right shoulder. The only time I was in the Slot was when the catcher lined up way outside.  And this worked GREAT for me for the last couple years. And if this from the results of how people (parents, coaches, fellow umpires etc.) reaches to my Umpiring skills...all while knowing that I’m a younger Umpire (compared to the rest) and how younger umpires reputations usually slack and or are bad)