Skip to main content

Reply to "Questions from a parent of a young player"

quote:
Originally posted by BobbleheadDoll:
YAYA you stand a big chance that coaches at that level don't have a clue about pitching. I have no problem with a knowledgeable parent talking to a coach and setting some guidelines. I do have a problem with every yahoo with a 9yo pitcher interfering with the coach. Educate yourself by reading and talking to professional coaches. Even ASMI hasn't figured out what is universally too many pitches for a given young pitchers but they do have a general guideline.
=======================================

Once you know a bit about what you are talking about then you can express your views based on ASMI's general pitch limits.

Bobblehead doll,
I don't know what your issue is with me just wanting to find out what is normal/too much for a young pitcher. I thought that this site is to ask questions and learn, yes mainly on a higher level, but younger as well. Obviously I struck some nerve with you. According to you, only "knowledgable parents" have the right to look out for their son. I'm just a Yahoo with a 9 y/o. How do you think those "knowledgable parents" learned? They were just Yahoos asking questions once also. Not once did I say I would interrupt the coach, go against what he does, or give my opinion to him. I am asking these questions so that I do know what could be too much. Alot of what I have read is that it seems like more and more younger players are having arm issues. Should I just sit back and wait? I also know that while most coaches are very good with doing what is right, there are some who are not. A 10U coach in our area has kids throwing curveballs. Even thought I'm just a yahoo, I do know that is too young. So if that were my son's coach, I guess I would have no right saying anything about that until I get more knowledgeable.

TPM,