Skip to main content

Reply to "Rapport with the ump"

As a coach, I'm a big proponent of my cathcers introducing themselves and building a rapport with the plate umpire from the moment they take the field. It pays off, especially over time as they get to know the player from working multiple games behind him over the years. An umpire who knows he's going to be protected can stay very quiet and get a good look at the pitch to get as many calls right as possible.

As an high school baseball umpire, I make a point of getting the catchers name from his coach while doing the plate conference, and then introduce myself while calling him by name. While he's warming up the pitcher and I'm getting my first looks at his pitches, I walk the catcher through a few simple 'ground rules' like not trying to jerk the ball into the zone, giving me a good view, and protecting me. I tell every catcher that if he beats the ball to the spot, cathces the outer half and gives me a good view, while also protecting me well, then he's going to have a good day. Also, that if he doesn't protect me, his day is going to be worse than mine. Most of them respond real well to that and the really good ones are embarassed anyway if a ball ever hits an umpire.