Skip to main content

Reply to "Recruiting Services"

There very well could be some good honest recruiting services out there. Here is our experience.

As a college coach I would receive information from recruiting services. At that time, it came in big stacks of papers or long lists. At first I read through all the info and once I actually followed up.

I saw a report on a 6-4/190 RHP from Northern Minnesota. The information gave glowing stats and claimed he threw a 93 mph fastball. It went on to say he had great control and was unknown by scouts because of the area he lived in. I called the high school coach and he assured me this was the best pitcher he had coached in his 20 year career. I called the parents and they expressed interest in our small college program.

Well… I made the 11 hour drive (each way) up north to see and try to recruit this young man. Their game was rained out, so that cost another day on the road. The one thing I did notice (I’m 6-4) is this kid was more like 6-1 at best, not the biggest deal, but the literature said he was 6-4.

The next day, I got to the park early and watched him warm up. I knew within minutes that this was a wasted trip. Sticking it out, mostly out of politeness, I watched him pitch 2 innings. No real need to, but it seemed like the right thing to do.

In the first inning… first pitch fastball… I got a whopping 77 mph on the gun. This ended up being the best fastball he threw in 2 innings. I actually felt sorry for this young guy, none of this was his fault. He was a nice kid, but got caught up in a complete falsehood.

Needless to say, that was the last time I used a recruiting service. The information that came in was promptly filed in the waste bin.

Then many years later we started Perfect Game. Times were tough trying to stay ahead of the game. One of our people thought it would be a great idea to start a RECRUITING SERVICE. Against my better judgement… We did!