Skip to main content

Reply to "Recruiting Services"

I don't usually post on the board but I found this topic to be more important to high school aged players then most. I am a travel coach from NJ and after attending the PG underclass showcase in January I was approached by a recruiter who after seeing my son pitch informed me that he thought I had a "talented kid" He could see I was skeptical and told me to call any D1 college coach I know and ask about him.
He took my number and left. I have a police backgound so I made many calls to first see if this was a credible individual, when I got no negative reports, I began by e-mailing college coaches, the first to respond was coach k's of Virginia, he knew of my son and also of the recuiter, he reccomended him and said he would be good for us, I received calls from tournament directors, pitching instuctors, all with positive things to say. When he eventually called me I had an entirely different attitude about him, and we signed on. Because I had done so much investigation in to this guy I felt very confident in refering him to the players on my travel team, again we are from NJ and attend most of the major events, but I still didn't feel many of my players got a second look from college's outside our area. What he was able to do for us was to make sure we entered the right events, make sure that the right college recuiter was at the right game for the right kid (which is super important).He also made sure that the more visible kids were well informed of the various schools situations,