Skip to main content

Reply to "School Ball and Summer Ball Collision"

TCB1 posted:

To answer a couple of questions:

No, we are not having the kids pitch yet.  Not on flat ground, not on mounds.  But since we are only going 2 days a week, I don't see a problem with kids coming in and warming up their arms.  This means progressive throwing (1 knee, no stride, post-position, etc) up to full warm-up tosses.  Being as we're inside, that means about 100 feet.

Also please understand, I'm  not asking for a stamp of approval from anyone about our program, how we set it up, and when we start.  For those who say "It's too early to have them throw in November", I'm sorry, I've been doing this for almost 30 years now, and while you might be a parent of a kid who plays summer ball for a great team, you don't get to dictate to me what is OK in my program.  My search for comments was not about whether what I was doing was "OK" or not, it was whether other coaches have run in to this type of dictatorial behavior.

Which I guess furthers the question of whether this is the situation where parents just assume that their player's summer coach MUST know much better what is good for their son than a high school coach.  Something we see quite often around here as there is the assumption, I think, that most high school coaches are just English teachers looking to make an extra buck, or Football coaches looking for something to do in the Spring. I also think some of it depends on what region you live in.  As you see from some posts above, the seasons and how things are set up are very different from State to State.