Skip to main content

Reply to "Success and failure"

Originally Posted by Soylent Green:

I'm with you bballman!  Numbers are useful, but by no means foolproof.  They can and are tweaked regularly for effect.  One of the ways "statmasters" try to intimidate and puff themselves up is by accusing anyone who disagrees with them of "not understanding the math".  I have an MBA hanging on the office wall (that and $4.50 will get you a cup of coffee) so I think I get the math.  Definitely wise to question the methods and motivations... and often the math, BTW... of these arguments.  Everyone has a viewpoint and human nature is to fit information into place that will validate a given viewpoint.

WAR is a great example... there are at least three seperate "official" ways to calculate this incessantly used gem. 

Taking it a step further, none of these various WAR formulae take into account the "value" of the games in which the data is mined... so a meaningless Mariners v Indians late season tilt from 1984 (let alone a dozen or more of these a year x 20 or so years) impacts a guy's career totals the same as, say, a Tigers v Royals game with playoff implications that same August.  It's the difference between formulas and the field.

Not that I disagree with your premise, but other than altering the initial data, like changing a hit to an error or ignoring some data, how do the numbers get “tweaked”?

Personally, I have absolutely no use at all for WAR because I only work with amateur ball and its impossible to calculate war there. But I am interested in how you or anyone else would assign “value” to any individual game, let alone an individual PA. I’ve tried many different ways to do that over the years, but its simply too complicated at my level due to lack of data.