As always there are an abundance of excellent responses to the question that provide both new insights and reinforcements of sound logical approaches. Always interested in the thoughts and ideas of this group.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .