Skip to main content

Reply to "Your (dad) coaching/instruction when you were in LL"

RJM posted:

I was just reading an article about the LLWS. A coach talked about the advanced instruction kids get now before they become teens. He talked LL coaches having access to improved teaching concepts.

What was it like when you played LL? 

I played LL in the late 60's. Coaches were not dads. I received no instruction at all. I'm not sure my coach played baseball past LL. But he was enthusiastic, a baseball fan and a great guy. He coached a bunch of 10-12yos even though he had a 2yo and 4yo. We loved playing for him. We hung out at his house, used his pool and ate his food. His wife was great to us. 

We won the league championship when I was twelve. Anything I learned was self taught from hours at the field playing pickup games and backyard whiffle ball. My stance came from whiffle ball where I hit in the stance of each Red Sox player in their lineup. Tony Conigliaro's stance felt good to me. 

The two all star coaches didn't seem to know any more than my regular season coach. The difference was they both hated my coach. They took it out on me and two teammates. We were three of the best players in the league. We batted 7, 8 and 9. I was the 3rd pitcher. My father forgot to tell me I was getting screwed and having a bad time. So I had a great time with my friends.

The only instruction I got in LL was keep my back elbow up. It was an awkward stance. I ignored the advice. It was an issue at age nine when I didn't hit well. Some of those 12yos were bringing it!  I didn't get a lick of pitching instruction until high school. A former high school pitcher was released from the minors. He became our pitching coach. I had been gripping pitches incorrectly since LL.

With all this lack of instruction before high school our 12yo LL all stars and two years of BR all stars won state championships. It wouldn't happen now.

Guess you're just a stud!