Tagged With "reentering"

Topic

Pitcher reentering the game

billsfanla ·
I am fairly new here, and have learned a lot from you guys already. My 2021 started his first varsity game yesterday. He pitched 4 innings, gave up 1 hit, 1 run, 5 k, 2 BB. Another kid pitched the 5th, then things got interesting in the 6th. We had a 11-1 lead, looking for a mercy. Bottom 6, the reliever walked the first 2 batters. Pitching change, coach brings my son from left field back into pitch. Two on, now outs. He goes to 3-2 on the first batter he faced, kid hits a 3 run bomb. He...
Reply

Re: Pitcher reentering the game

Golfman25 ·
So most states (maybe all) have adopted pitch count rules. So the first question is why they took the kid out in the first place. If he was rolling along, leave him in until he is pitch counted out (either by rule or coach's decision) or he starts giving up hits and walking people. Sitting him in the outfield isn't a great idea. So bad coaching there. I don't know the HS rules regarding pitcher's re-entering to pitch (too cheap to buy the book) - I think they can. MLB you can do it as long...
Reply

Re: Pitcher reentering the game

cabbagedad ·
Yeah, it's not really a re-entry as he never left the game. You can do position changes if you want. Not common but I can see this happening. Coach gets a big lead and wants to give other guys an opportunity for innings on the bump. Then, things go south and at some point he has to make sure the team seals the deal. He pitched four very clean innings, sat the 5th and back in the 6th. That's not ideal but not much different than sitting a long inning while the offense puts up a big crooked...
Reply

Re: Pitcher reentering the game

Matt13 ·
In FED, a pitcher can return to pitch no more than once an inning, assuming he has not reached his pitch count limit or his replacement needs more than eight warm-up pitches. In fact, if he's the starter, he can leave the game entirely and come back in to pitch if he's still eligible.
Reply

Re: Pitcher reentering the game

2017LHPscrewball ·
I don't think I have ever seen this during the 100 or so high school games I've watched. I might have seen it during the first year of kid pitch several years back. On the surface, it sounds like an absolutely horrible idea. Unless the kid is throwing BP type stuff, having him leave the mound only to return later (20-30 minutes later after thinking he was done pitching) has all sorts of pitfalls. It sounds like your kid did not have a very stressful outing #1 (but was pitching with runners...
Reply

Re: Pitcher reentering the game

JCG ·
I've watched 100+ HS games too and I've never seen it. I'm definitely in favor of keeping my opinions to myself when it comes to my kid's coaches, but that's a case where I would feel I had to speak up if it kept happening.
Reply

Re: Pitcher reentering the game

OB1 ·
I’ve actually seen it done a few times. Can’t say I’m a fan although I’ve been in situations where the thought crossed my mind. The one good thing is it shows great confidence in your son.
Reply

Re: Pitcher reentering the game

keewart ·
It happened once to my kid in HS....when he was batting. When son came up to bat, they opposing team replaced the RHP with a LHP for my kid who switch hits. Then the coach put the RHP back in after his at bat. (I can not remember if the coach put the RHP in the field for that one batter, but he was an excellent SS/2B as well as pitcher).
Reply

Re: Pitcher reentering the game

noumpere ·
He also cannot return if he's removed because the coach has already used the allowed number of visits (just adding for completeness)
Reply

Re: Pitcher reentering the game

NewUmpire ·
Not so sure about this.... If the coach used up his visits and the starting pitcher was now playing 1B... that player would be eligible to go to the mound and pitch. Provided that if it were mid inning - he would get no warm up pitches ...if reentered as a pitcher to start an inning then no issue. Players can change defensive positions mid inning with no penalty if not delaying the game. I don't know of any rule that would prevent that. A delay would constitute a visit. Also in NFHS ... if...
Reply

Re: Pitcher reentering the game

Buckeye 2015 ·
I don't see an issue....I assume your son hadn't thrown a lot of pitches. He likely warmed up a bit in the OF between innings, so it's not like he was coming back in cold. If he never leaves the game it's not re-entry....he can play all 9 positions in one inning if he wants to. In NFHS, unless it changed, if you start as the pitcher.....then leave the game, you're eligibile to re-enter the game, but I'm pretty sure it can't be as the pitcher. Could be wrong, but I'm thinking that's how it...
Post
.
×
×
×
×