Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I am a novice at field conditioning, but at the high school level, the best maintained fields incorporated a lot of the soil conditioners(I'll find out the name later) allowing for less watering than may be available at colleges or pro levels. Our high school coach allows the sprinkler heads to hit the infield dirt as well as the grass during irrigation, and i think it comes on every day for 40 minutes. I have read where some MLB maintenance guys really soak the infield about 8 hours before a game so that the soil is conditioned properly. Just remember that I am not a pro, but someone who is getting started to help the local coach who has about 30 years experience.
On the subject of infield lips, one approach that I have used is to get a high pressure hose nozzle. Stand on the outfield grass (assuming the lip is on the outfield side of the infield dirt) and blast the grass about a foot or so from the dirt, squirting at about a 45 degree angle to the ground. If the lip is not too bad, this will push the extra dirt out from the grass, causing the grass to lie flat again. BTW Once you get rid of the lip, if you spray like this, without the high pressure hose nozzle, after each time you drag, the lip won't build up again.
That is a good idea about the pressure washer and I have never seen it used. Another way to get rid of the lips (and requires much more work) is to rake it out in the offseason. Just grab some field rakes and rough it up and then use lawn rakes to pull back. I would much rather use the pressure washer.

Sometimes the way your field drainage / crown is set up will cause lips. For example the field I have played on for the past 10 years is elevated at the IF and slopes to the OF and foul sides. Because of this when water runs off the dirt goes with it towards the OF. So my lips were at the IF grass.