Skip to main content

My son is a 2022 and I am very new to the baseball recruiting process.  I was first wondering if given his current metrics if he should be trying to gain exposure at this time.  And if so, what level should he be looking, what type of events/camps, etc.

He is a RHP/3B/1B, 6'5" 185 lbs.  FB 82-84 avg, 86 max.  Also throws slider, curve & change up.

Academically he is 4.0/4.0 scale and has yet to take the ACT or SAT.

Thank you in advance for any advice.

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

He’s probably projectable as a mid major pitcher right now. The projectability part is assuming he puts 5mph on his fast ball in the next year or so. And some bulk on his body. But he has the size college coaches love in pitchers. Does he have a personal pitching coach? Is he playing on a quality, visible travel team with other potential D1 prospects. Where do they play (tournaments)?

NoALDad posted:

My son is a 2022 and I am very new to the baseball recruiting process.  I was first wondering if given his current metrics if he should be trying to gain exposure at this time.  And if so, what level should he be looking, what type of events/camps, etc.

He is a RHP/3B/1B, 6'5" 185 lbs.  FB 82-84 avg, 86 max.  Also throws slider, curve & change up.

Agree with RJM... assuming he has some command and competitive presence, he should be actively working his recruiting plan now and this summer will be relevant for him if D1 is a target.  You came to the right place.  Be aware that you can also get any question answered on any related topic by searching threads here... not that I am discouraging asking directly as you have.