Skip to main content

This website has provided a lot of great tips for me in the past, so I figured I needed to join as it would be a good place to come to for recruiting advice. I've had a really slow start to the recruiting process because of a minor injury early this fall (had consistent contact with one school), but I thought now would be a good time to really get the recruiting process going.

To start, I'm a 6'4" Left Handed Pitcher. I don't have too much room to fill out because I'm already weighing at 225 pounds, but there's definitely some muscle to gain. This summer, my 2 seam fastball was sitting at 85-87 mph and topping at 88. My change up is very good, but my curve ball will need some work this off season. As of now, I have a 29 on the ACT but I'm hoping to get it a little higher.

I have no experience with going to showcases/pg tournaments, and I haven't really had success with trying to reach out to schools(I've sent out some emails unsuccessfully). I would like to stay in the midwest/south because it's close to home, but I'm really willing to go anywhere if I got the opportunity to play(I don't want to sit for 3 years just to say I'm going to a good school). I really have no idea what I'm interested in or what I want to study, so I guess I've just been searching for schools because they look cool, which probably won't benefit me at all. Also, Based on what I've seen on this website, it seems like D1 schools won't be giving out many scholarship offers to the 2022 and 2023 class. I know many of you have had experience with the recruiting process, so I was hoping to get any advice that you think might be helpful in beginning it. Specifically, are there any groups of schools/conferences that I should target? Thank you for any advice! (sorry if this was long)

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

hbaseball,