Skip to main content

He looks to be off the board for an extended period of time, but this might explain why:

Take Action

My son is a 2016.  However, he is 15yrs old and is young for a Sophomore and does not turn 16 until next summer.  He just received a Nationa Underclass Showcase invite I guess based upon his results from the showcase in August.  He just got a "7" and I don't think he needs to go to another showcase until after his Junior year or possibly next year.  What are your thoughts on this, I'm very new to this.  He is a 77-79 pitcher with great movement and results for his showcase team.  Thanks

Now you got me curious Russ. Just did some quick internet sleuthing (looked up the showcase in Texas in Aug of 2013 for a LHP who was class of 2016 and didn't turn 16 until the following summer and who was 77-79 and got a 7.0) My best guess is that he is currently a D1 pitcher on the staff at Stephen F. Austin university.

piaa_ump posted:

There was an adage that you should write down all the names of the starters on your sons 12 year old all star team. Store the letter.

Open the letter and check it against the starters of his HS baseball team his senior year.

In my sons case........only 3 were starters on both lists.   

We have gamechanger now...pencils and paper are soooo 1990’s....

anecdotally, HS varsity teams are kind of a melting pot of talent over a  3-4 year period...stands to reason only 3-4 would make the roster per year.

Last edited by 2022OFDad
piaa_ump posted:

There was an adage that you should write down all the names of the starters on your sons 12 year old all star team. Store the letter.

Open the letter and check it against the starters of his HS baseball team his senior year.

In my sons case........only 3 were starters on both lists.