Skip to main content

Hi I’m new on the board and after reading all the messages I would like to get some advice from all the members. I’m a 2020 graduate and I am trying to be a 2 way which has been hard. My velocity has been down since hitting 86 in January to 83-84 and did ok at the wwba in Atlanta. My travel team coach feels that I should be a po only but in high school I am 2 way. How do I approach this? How much does the travel team coach have to do with recruiting? Any advice appreciated thanks 

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

There are many on this board who have more experience than I, but here are my thoughts:

If your goals are to play in college and be a 2 way, it may limit you in what schools will be available to you.  2-way are fairly uncommon, especially at a D1 level.  You'll have more opportunities at D2 and D3.

So you probably need to ask yourself, what is your main goal.  Is it to be 2-way, D1, or whatever else.

86 in January for a 2020 is very good.  Not sure why the drop-off and/or if you're still growing.  But if you are, that 86 can project well which can open D1 doors.  But, again, that may mean focusing on PO and giving up the 2-way.

My son is a 2019 RHP and he knew pitching is what was going to butter his bread, so he went PO when on varsity as a sophomore.  Also, my son's travel coach has had much more influence than my high school.  I was told the opposite years ago, bc they're 'paid', but he's a college coach himself so much more respected and trusted. 

While we're on that subject, I would highly recommend having a travel coach be a college coach (may be worth a topic in of itself).  My son has had many college coaches watch him pitch, and I spend most of my time watching the interaction with his travel coach.  They talk constantly in between innings.  Not sure if this is common with all teams/coaches or not.  Not to mention he has told us he called coaches directly, as "he knew them well."