Skip to main content

As I was reading one of the responses to an OPP this morning, it reminded me of a great article I read recently. I am a long-time HS teacher/coach so blessed to work with teenagers most days of the year. Despite having the greatest job in the world, I sometimes find myself falling into a funk after dealing with some of the obvious challenges that come with my job. I would venture to say that most parents probably have experienced some of these same challenges but with a much smaller sample size .

I have favorited this link so that I can refer back to it when I find myself getting frustrated with students/players. Think it also a great read for those of us who are college baseball parents (note the age of full development in article). Hope some of you will find it useful as well.

https://www.empoweringparents....hey-know-everything/

"Baseball is more then a game. It's like life played out on a field." - Juliana Hatfield

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Yet, many teen to twenty-five year olds make reasonably responsible decisions. Maybe it’s because their parents encouraged them to be problem solvers rather than being snow plow parents. 

I don’t know how any parent can plow every issue out of their child’s way through graduation of high school and expect them to be responsible on their own in college.

RJM posted:

I don’t know how any parent can plow every issue out of their child’s way through graduation of high school and expect them to be responsible on their own in college.

They don't expect them to be responsible on their own in college. They assume the colleges will let them continue to plow every issue out of the way. Imagine the surprise when the college doesn't play along.

Iowamom23 posted:
RJM posted:

They don't expect them to be responsible on their own in college. They assume the colleges will let them continue to plow every issue out of the way. Imagine the surprise when the college doesn't play along.