Skip to main content

I am a catching coach that is having a brain cramp with a math/physics problem. I'm not sure what discipline this fits best so I am submitting it to the Math and Science posters on this forum. It relates to how to set up an equation I can use to determine how long will it take a ball to travel a set distance knowing the initial velocity and how fast the ball is slowing down in flight.

The details are as follows:

Problem#1: Determine how long it will take a baseball to travel 130 feet when:

Release (initial) velocity is 75mph
The ball’s velocity drops 1 mph for every 10 feet it travels.
Need answer in seconds to 2 decimal places.

Problem#2: Determine how long it will take a softball to travel 88 feet when:

Release (initial) velocity is 58mph

Then a formula I can load into an Excel spreadsheet to calculate this as needed as the initial velocity changes
Kid with a 90MPH fastball......Potential Kid with a 90MPH fastball and a great catcher....Results
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

This is a speed, distance, time problem

rule of thumb always work in the values you're trying to find. In this case seconds, so you need to convert he distances to seconds.

Here's a calculator that will give you your answers, just plug in the right numbers

Here's the Algebra Website with the formulas needed to do the algebraic representation of distance.

The simple formula for distance time and speed is http://www.purplemath.com/modules/distance.htm

http://www.machinehead-software.co.uk/bike/speed_distance_time_calc.html
Last edited by Ramrod
It is easy to do but sadly my mesure arent the same as yours... I use meters and seconds km/h in my calculs. But there are some equation that can maybe help you. It is 11h30 so I'm tired and I dont want to transfer all the mesures but maybe tomorow after a good rest I will!!!

final speed = initial speed + (acceleration * time)

final speed^2 = initial speed^2 + (2 * acceleration * distance)