Skip to main content

My kids Frosh season is going well but as a parent it's my duty to nit-pick and second guess the coach the first chance I get. He started the first 3 games, batting 3rd or 4th, playing right field. 4th game he was a DH, still batting 3rd, but got no field time at all. If I wanted to read into this negatively I'd say maybe he's doing poorly at practice not playing his position well. Positive spin tells me the coach is just trying to get some kids off the bench that usually sit most of the game. I asked the kid he says "I dunno".

-- If it seems I don't know what I'm talking about, you'd be right. --

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I guess what I'm being a worry-wart about is, is DHing a good or bad sign generally? Haven't noticed the coach DH anyone else but I'm new to this. Yes, this is freshman HS ball, all 9th graders, 16 kids. School has a JV team too. Glad he made the team and is starting but to me (taking from MLB) the DH is usually the old slugger who can't do much but hit and is on his way out as soon as he stops producing. I don't see my son a liability defensively but I can't be objective.

And my perspective is to allow all players to get some time at this level. If my kid was all that he'd be on JV or V.

Last edited by 2016Dad

I wouldn't try to be a mind reader.  You have watched your son play for years.  These coaches have not.  

On a case by case basis it can be good or bad.  My son's best friend and teammate has always played short.  Mine has always caught and pitched.  Mine is pitching a very little bit on varsity and he plays JV to get ABs.  Guess where he plays on JV?? SS or 2B.  The parents of his best friend and my wife and I find it funny cause we don't see him that way at all even though he has made most of the plays there.  It's okay because he will catch all summer.