Skip to main content

I'm new to the board and a total novice with baseball recruiting.  I have a 2024 RHP that doesn't get much attention from D1 schools at this time.   He is a RHP that sits 85-87 and touches 88.   I have reached the conclusion that if you aren't in the 90's then the D1 schools aren't going to show much attention regardless of pitchability.   

So, we have been focusing in on D3 options.   My question is, at what point do you start to reach out to D3 schools, and in general what does D3 recruiting, offers, etc.... typically look like?

Also, on a side note, we are headed to Jupiter Florida this weekend to play with a 2023 team.  Is this just a waste of time or is there some real benefit in playing in this WWBA World Championship program?   

Thanks

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Welcome!  Most D3s recruit the summer before senior year and all through senior year.  So for your son, summer '23 (next summer).  It's a good idea to make a list and reach out to coaches early next spring, with a playing schedule, asking what events they will be at to see him.  They will tell you to come to their camp, but if he's a credible recruit, this does work at the D3 level.  Next summer, have the travel coaches reach out, too.

Things to know about how it works include these:

- D3 teams have no limits for roster size, so they can recruit as many players as they want.  Some teams have 50+.  Some schools have reputations for sports recruiting as a way to get paying students to attend.  So you have to be aware of this.

- There are basically two things that a coach can offer to recruit players:  (1) getting to play on a team with good coaching and winning program, and (2) help with admissions.