Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Recruiting coordinators  and pro ball scouts don't really care about HS ball stats......but a red flag goes up if they DIDN'T play HS ball. Your son doesn't want to be 'That Guy' . It creates suspicion and can make your son look like a tourney kid who is an 'I guy'

He's a baseball player and he attends High School.  So, keep it simple.......Play on your High School team

Welcome to the site!

Disclaimer... I'm a HS coach.

If he is as well connected and talented as it sounds, it most likely won't matter in his college recruiting process and any pro interest.  But, as others said, it might.  Still, to me, that's not a reason to decide to continue playing HS baseball.  If his HS program is only one step back from his summer program, that's not that bad, really.  I guess I'd have to hear just how bad.  Only you and he know the specifics.  Does he have his HS friends playing on the HS team?   Is he putting off the "i'm too good for that" vibe or are there serious issues like complete opposite teaching with no flexibility for a great player getting solid outside instruction?  Does he not recognize and appreciate the many special aspects of HS ball as compared to travel, showcase and eventually college ball?  Even if the team is not good, there are an abundance of things special with HS ball that he won't get anywhere else.  Obviously, it would be difficult for the coaching to measure up to what he is getting outside of HS.  So what.