First time I have seen this since Little League… our HS short stop pulled his glove and threw it at a ground ball hit up the middle. Clean hit that no one but the center fielder was going to get. Runner rounded first and held up as CF pitched the ball back in. Umpires called time and got together and proceeded to award the runner 2nd. Our coach then wanted an explanation and then opposing coach wanted an explanation. Umpires reconvened and moved the runner to 3rd. Listening to the fans was quite hilarious at that point. So the umpires got it right, almost… they were employing the “detached equipment” rule, 3 bases for a batted ball (it’s 2 for a thrown ball and I think that was their original miss). They however screwed it up because the glove did not hit the ball and they didn’t know the AND portion of the rule. I have searched high and low and found plenty of descriptions concerning the rule but nowhere as how to score it. It went in my book as a single and two base fielding error on the SS moving the runner to 3rd. Thoughts?
Side note: umpire crew chief must have followed up on the judgement because he called our coach the next morning and apologized for getting it wrong as they knew the glove did not hit the ball but were applying the penalty against the player’s action rather than a result of his action.
Under Official Baseball Rules Rule 7.05 Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance—
(a) To home base, scoring a run, if a fair ball goes out of the playing field in flight and he touched all bases legally; or if a fair ball which, in the umpire’s judgment, would have gone out of the playing field in flight, is deflected by the act of a fielder in throwing his glove, cap, or any article of his apparel;
(b) Three bases, if a fielder deliberately touches a fair ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril;
(c) Three bases, if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a fair ball. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril.
(d) Two bases, if a fielder deliberately touches a thrown ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play;
(e) Two bases, if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a thrown ball. The ball is in play;
Rule 7.05(b) through 7.05(e) Comment: In applying (b-c-d-e) the umpire must rule that the thrown glove or detached cap or mask has touched the ball. There is no penalty if the ball is not touched. Under (c-e) this penalty shall not be invoked against a fielder whose glove is carried off his hand by the force of a batted or thrown ball, or when his glove flies off his hand as he makes an obvious effort to make a legitimate catch.