Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

The main observation is that FIU recruited Transfer Portal and JUCO vs High School recruit.

Will future classes be heavily transfer.

FWIW, my son was a teammate of Rich for three years at Coastal.  He was a good teammate and player.  Rich has accelerated rapidly to become a D1 coach at age 34.  On the transfer portal and JUCO thing, I would suspect to turn the program around, he would prefer experienced guys at first.  If they can establish a track record, you may see them adding more pure freshmen in the future.  That is only a guess and I have no insider knowledge.  Huge congrats to Rich and his program in the future.

The main observation is that FIU recruited Transfer Portal and JUCO vs High School recruit.

Will future classes be heavily transfer.

The 2 transfers from Florida came a few years ago.

IMO it's a tough sell due to location. Competing against so many good state programs UF, UM, FSU, UCF, USF, Stetson and top D2s Tampa, Florida Southern, etc. isn't easy.  Transfers and JUCOs have been successful for the smaller programs in FL.

ClevelandDad,

I remember Witten from Coastal. Dave told me he was a great hire for the program.

Jeroloman was Dave's travel team catcher when they played in HS. His brother is assistant at Florida with DK.

Really small baseball world.

Last edited by TPM

FWIW, my son was a teammate of Rich for three years at Coastal.  He was a good teammate and player.  Rich has accelerated rapidly to become a D1 coach at age 34.  On the transfer portal and JUCO thing, I would suspect to turn the program around, he would prefer experienced guys at first.  If they can establish a track record, you may see them adding more pure freshmen in the future.  That is only a guess and I have no insider knowledge.  Huge congrats to Rich and his program in the future.