Skip to main content

I’ve read a lot on here to go where you can get the best possible education. I am an incoming freshman. There is a great magnet school around the area that does not have a baseball team. The private school I will be going to is a lot of money but offers a great education and baseball team. The magnet school offers around the same education and is free. We are considering the school since it would free up a lot of money. I’ve read through and also have learned that your summer team is what helps you get recruited, not the high school team. Does anyone have experience with a school that didn’t offer a baseball team?

Thank You,

Last edited by 2025prospect
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I don't have any personal experience, but I know several kids who played travel ball with my son who re-classed in 8th grade (i.e., they repeated 8th grade via an online program).  During that year they worked out with their travel ball coach and a few of these kids stuck with him and played in what is called a "Red Shirt League" during HS.  The Red Shirt League was a group of teams comprised of local JC kids who were red shirted, some D1/DII kids who had gotten cut in the fall, and some HS kids who didn't want to play for their HS program.  These kids never played HS ball, but they played ball all spring with bigger and stronger kids who had some talent.  One is currently playing for Arizona State, another is headed to Auburn, and a few others are also playing or will be playing college ball.  The moral of the story is, where there is a will there is a way.